Become Microsoft Certified For Your Career

Learn about the different Microsoft certification programs.

Getting your Microsoft certification gives you a recognized industry credential that offers proof of your knowledge and expertise in Microsoft applications to advance in your information technology career as a Microsoft certified professional.

Microsoft Certified System Engineer (MCSE)

desktop computer in a classroom

MCSE is the premier Microsoft certification program and is one of the most widely recognized, pursued, and obtained technical certifications in the information technology industry. Microsoft Certified Systems Engineers (MCSEs) design and implement an infrastructure solution based on the Windows platform and Microsoft Windows Server System software. Specializations include MCSE: Messaging and MCSE: Security.

Microsoft Certified Professional (MCP)

The Microsoft Certified Professional (MCP) credential is for information technology professionals who have the skills to successfully implement a Microsoft product or technology as part of a business solution in an organization. Microsoft Certified Professional (MCP) candidates are required to pass one current Microsoft certification exam that provides a valid and reliable measure of technical proficiency and expertise (a current exam is any that has not been retired).

Microsoft Certified Architect (MCA)

Microsoft Certified Architect Program targets practicing solutions architects and infrastructure architects who successfully apply frameworks and methodologies to create an architecture through the entire information technology lifecycle.

Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Technician (MCDST)

Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Technicians (MCDSTs) have the technical and customer service skills to troubleshoot hardware and software operation issues in Microsoft Windows environments. There are two exams required to become certified as a computer support specialist.

Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator (MCSA)

Microsoft Certified Systems Administrators (MCSAs) administer network and systems environments based on the Microsoft Windows platforms. Specializations include MCSA: Messaging and MCSA: Security.

Microsoft Certified Database Administrator (MCDBA)

Microsoft Certified Database Administrators (MCDBAs) design, implement and administer Microsoft SQL Server databases.

Microsoft Certified Trainer (MCT)

Microsoft Certified Trainers (MCTs) are qualified instructors certified by Microsoft to deliver Microsoft training courses to information technology professionals and developers.

Microsoft Certified Learning Consultant (MCLC)

The Microsoft Certified Learning Consultant (MCLC) credential recognizes MCTs whose job roles have grown to include frequent consultative engagements with customers. These MCTs are experts in designing and delivering customized learning solutions.

Microsoft Certified Application Developer (MCAD)

Microsoft Certified Application Developers (MCADs) use Microsoft technologies to develop and maintain department-level applications, components, Web or desktop clients, or back-end data services. The MCAD credential was created in response to industry demand for a Microsoft certification that would allow developers to show they have the skills necessary to successfully implement functional specifications and build, deploy, and maintain Microsoft Windows and Web applications. Achieving the MCAD credential can be a step toward earning the MCSD credential for advanced developers.

Microsoft Certified Solution Developer (MCSD)

Microsoft Certified Solution Developers (MCSDs) design and develop leading-edge business solutions with Microsoft development tools, technologies, platforms and the Windows architecture. An MCSD for Microsoft .NET candidate should have two years of experience developing and maintaining solutions and applications. There are four exams required.

Microsoft Office Specialist

Microsoft Office Specialists are globally recognized for demonstrating advanced skills with Microsoft desktop software. The Office Specialist program provides computer program literacy, measures proficiency, and identifies opportunities for skills enhancement. Successful candidates receive an Office Specialist certificate that sets them apart from their peers in our competitive job market. This Microsoft certification is a valuable credential recognized worldwide as proof that an individual has the desktop computing skills needed to work productively and efficiently in an office environment.

The Office Specialist program offers four levels of certification: Specialist, Expert, Master and Master Instructor.